The National Heritage List for England (NHLE) is the only official and up-to-date database of all nationally designated heritage assets, including:

  • listed buildings
  • scheduled monuments
  • protected wreck sites
  • registered parks and gardens
  • registered battlefields
  • world Heritage Sites
  • applications for Certificates of Immunity (COIs)
  • current Building Preservation Notices (BPNs)

The National Heritage List for England can be inspected on the Historic England website >>

The owners and occupiers of listed buildings are notified when a building joins the list, and prospective buyers will find the information in their pre-contract local land charge.