Conservation areas

Conservation areas have a legal status as areas "of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance".

The authority's powers to designate a place a conservation area means we can recognise and conserve the unique quality and special interest of a particular part of our district by designating and undertaking periodic appraisals of conservation areas.

Stamford was the first conservation area to be designated in England.

There are currently 47 conservation areas in South Kesteven.
pdf icon Conservation areas in the district [74kb]

The council are currently undertaking a review of all the conservation areas within the district and are producing up to date conservation area appraisals.

The Conservation team can:

  • give owners and occupiers of listed buildings  advice and guidance on how to maintain, repair and alter them in a sympathetic manner
  • provide guidance on the design of new buildings and structures in or near conservation areas and listed buildings
  • monitor the condition of listed buildings and conservation areas and take enforcement action to protect them when needed
  • review and prepare conservation area appraisals and management plans and designate new conservation areas where appropriate

For further information, please submit an enquiry >>