Election candidates named for Grantham and Stamford ballot

Residents will go to the polls in less than a month to select two new South Kesteven District Councillors and two new Town Councillors for Stamford.

Three candidates will contest Grantham Arnoldfield Ward for a seat on SKDC:

  • Stuart Fawcett, Labour Party
  • Kaffy Rice-Oxley, Conservative Party
  • Mike Turner, Green Party

Stamford All Saints Ward for SKDC will be contested by:

  • Richard Cleaver, Independent
  • Maxwell Sawyer, Independent
  • Amanda Schonhut, Conservative Party
  • Tony Story, Independent

Both elections will be held on Thursday 28 October, the same date as the vote for two vacancies on Stamford Town Council.

Town Council - All Saints North Ward:

  • Tony Francis, Independent Candidate for Veterans
  • Amanda Schonhut, Conservative Party
  • Nina Van Dyck

Town Council - St Mary's Ward:

  • Lisa Brewin, Liberal Democrats
  • David Scammell, Independent

To take part, people must ensure they are registered to vote, with the deadline for this being Tuesday 12 October. More details on this can be found on the SKDC website: bit.ly/3rV1eiA

SKDC Chief Executive Karen Bradford said: "It is important to be registered to vote if you want to have a voice in these elections and a say in the future of your area. You can visit our website for details on this, particularly if you have recently moved house or have turned 18."

Polling Cards with details of where to vote are being sent out and those who have not received theirs yet will receive them shortly.

For those who do not wish to vote in person, a postal vote is available, but the deadline to apply for this is Wednesday 13 October. People can also nominate someone to vote in their place, via a Proxy Vote. All details on both options can be found here: https://bit.ly/3A3pFgp

Polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm on 28 October for eligible residents to visit and cast their vote.